About Us

Board of Directors


James D Phipps

Non-Executive Chairman of the Board

B.A. (Philosophy), J.D. (Law)

Mr Phipps is a strategic advisor, business executive, and lawyer with extensive international and Middle East experience.

Mr Phipps currently serves as Co-Chairman of Sheffield United Football Club, the first "United" and the first association football club worldwide and a founding member of the English Premiere League.

Mr Phipps co-chairs Blades Leisure Limited, which holds SUFC and other operating companies, including security and event management companies. He chairs Shout TV, Inc., a Lindon, Utah, based sports entertainment business and serves and principal advisor to His Royal Highness Prince Abdullah bin Mosaad bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, providing strategic advice relative to a worldwide portfolio of businesses, properties and investments. He sits on the board of the publicly listed Saudi Paper Manufacturing Company (Tadawul: 2300), the leading manufacturer of tissue paper products in the Gulf Region.

Mr Phipps has experience in corporate turnarounds and has served as chief executive or general manager at a number of companies in a turn-around capacity. He brings experience to the board in the context of Alara's G.C.C. endeavours.


Justin Richard

Managing Director & CEO


Mr Richard is an accomplished corporate lawyer and business manager who has played a key role in helping build and maintain Alara’s international joint venture relationships. He has been the Company’s General Counsel since 2011 and in 2013 took up residence in Riyadh as Alara’s Country Manager for Saudi Arabia. The Company later expanded his role to include management of Alara’s joint venture companies in Oman.

Prior to joining Alara, Mr Richard worked as Senior Commercial Officer & Contracts Specialist with Bateman Engineering (Australia), Corporate Counsel and head of legal for UGL Limited’s resources division and as a lawyer in Minter Ellison’s Construction, Engineering and Infrastructure group.

Before entering the legal profession, Mr Richard enjoyed a successful career in private enterprise as Managing Director of Irrigate Australia.

Mr Richard has attained an Executive MBA from London Business School, a Bachelor’s degree in Law from University of Western Australia and is a Fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia and the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy.

Vikas Jain

Non-Executive Director


Mr Jain holds an MBA obtained in the USA and as a wealth of experience encompassing around 15 years in the field of mineral exploration and allied activities, including open-pit mining.

Mr Jain is currently Managing Director and CEO of the Indian compnay South West Pinnacle Exploration P/L, a company he founded in 2006 and under his leadership grew to become a leading exploration company in India.

After starting in mineral exploration, South West Pinnacle has since added coal-bed methane production, transportation, geophysical logging and other geological activities to its domain.


Atmavireshwar Sthapak

Executive Director

BASc, MTech (Applied Geology), MAusIMM

Mr Sthapak is a geologist specialising in mineral resource exploration and evaluation studies. He joined Alara in 2011, making valuable contributions to the Company as an Exploration Manager and a Study Manager based in Muscat, including discovery of large VMS copper mineralisation extensions at the Washihi project in Oman.

Prior to Alara, Mr Sthapak’s career spanned 10 years with ACC / ACC-CRA Ltd, and 10 years with Rio Tinto (Australasia) where he was awarded a Rio Tinto Discovery Award in 2009. He has worked on world class deposits, including Mt. Isa type copper deposits in Australia, and copper, gold and diamond mines on four continents.


Stephen Gethin

Company Secretary and Alternate Director

Mr Gethin is a lawyer with over 20 years’ experience gained in a national law firm and General Counsel and Company Secretary roles in various international ASX-listed companies, and specialises in corporate law, tax and resources.

Mr Gethin excels in structuring and documenting complex transactions, particularly where challenging tax issues are involved. His “in-house” experience has given him a deep understanding of the practical realities faced by business.

Mr Gethin has had legal oversight of all stages of developing mining operations from the greenfields stage until tendering out mine construction contracts. He has provided advice and documentation for resource and other projects in Australia and, managing local lawyers, in over 20 foreign countries. Mr Gethin has acted for various ASX-listed companies in takeovers via on- and off-market bid and scheme of arrangement.